Chandigarh, Apr 10: After scrutiny of nominations today, 280 candidates remained in the fray for Lok Sabha elections 2014 in Punjab where polling will be held on April 30.

Jalandhar Parliamentary Constituency has 26 candidates while Patiala 21, Sangrur 23, Faridkot 23, Ferozpur 17, Ludhiana 23, Amritsar 24, Khadoor Sahib 22, Anandpur Sahib 18, Bathinda 32, Fathegarh Sahib 16, Hoshiarpur 19 and Gurdaspur 16, Additional CEO Surpreet Singh Gulati said.

He said that nomination papers of prominent candidates included Amrinder Singh of Congress, Arun Jaitley of BJP.

About 1.92 crore voters, including 90 lakh women, are expected to cast their votes at 21,957 polling stations, including 15,463 in rural areas, from 7 AM to 6 PM on April 30.

Five constituencies of Gursdapur, Amritsar, Bathinda, Ferozepur and Patiala have been classified as “expenditure sensitive”.

The other eight constituencies which will go to the polls are Khadoor Sahab, Jalandhar SC, Fatehgarh Sahab, Hoshiarpur SC, Anandpur Sahab, Ludhiana, Sangrur and Faridkot.

Of the 13 Lok Sabha seats, at present Congress has eight MPs, SAD four and its alliance partner BJP one.