Bhuvneshwar Kumar of Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) is the current Purple Cap holder in the tenth edition of Indian Premier League. The Indian bowling mainstay is leading the highest wicket-takers list with 15 prized scalps in VIVO IPL 2017.  His best bowling figures of 5/19 against Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) has given him a good advantage ahead of second-placed Delhi Daredevils pacer Chris Morris, who has taken 12 wickets in the exciting tenth edition of Twenty20 cricket tournament. Indian Premier League Purple Cap is an annual cricket award presented to the leading wicket-taker of the season. Bhuvneshwar Kumar of defending champions SRH is also the reigning current Purple Cap holder bagged in IPL 2016. IPL Orange Cap Holders from season 2008-2017: List of leading run-scorers for each edition of Indian Premier League T20 Cricket Tournament.

Dwayne Bravo who now represents Gujarat Lions (GL) is the only bowler to be adjudged Purple Cap winner twice, both during his stint with Chennai Super Kings (CSK). In the ongoing VIVO IPL 10, the hot favourites to pick maximum wickets are Sunil Narine of Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), Bhuvneshwar Kumar of SRH, Imran Tahir of Rising Pune Supergiant (RPS), Zaheer Khan of Delhi Daredevils (DD), Jasprit Bumrah of Mumbai Indians (MI) or just about anyone could be the new IPL 2017 Purple Cap holder join the list of leading wicket-takers for each edition of Indian Premier League T20 Cricket Tournament. Indian Premier League 2017 Schedule in PDF: Download updated VIVO IPL 10 complete time table with venue details.

While it is commonly said T20 format is all about batsman and high scoring runs, but it is always the bowlers who decide the course of the match. Bowlers in their quota of four overs can snatch the game away from opposition’s clutches, or loose deliveries can ruin the fate of their side. In the inaugural edition of Indian Premier League in 2008, it was Pakistan’s pacer Sohail Tanvir who bagged the first Purple Cap. Playing 11 matches for Rajasthan Royals, Tanvir took 22 wickets with at an economy rate of 6.46. His best bowling figures were 6/14. IPL 2017 Live Streaming & Telecast Schedule: How to watch VIVO Indian Premier League 10 Online & List of TV channels with Match Timings

In IPL 2009, it was Indian medium-pacer Rudra Pratap Singh who bagged 23 wickets in 16 matches at an economy rate of 6.98. RP Singh’s incredible bowling performance not only made him the Purple Cap holder but also helped his side Deccan Chargers become the title winners under Adam Gilchrist’s captaincy.

Purple Cap Players – Most Wickets Taken By Bowlers (2008 to 2017)

YearPlayer NameTeamMatchesWicketsEconomy
2008Sohail TanvirRajasthan Royals11226.46
2009RP SinghDeccan Chargers16236.98
2010Pragyan OjhaDeccan Chargers16217.29
2011Lasith MalingaMumbai Indians16285.95
2012Morne MorkelDelhi Daredevils16257.19
2013Dwayne BravoChennai Super Kings18327.95
2014Mohit SharmaChennai Super Kings16238.39
2015Dwayne BravoChennai Super Kings17268.14
2016Bhuvneshwar KumarSunrisers Hyderabad17237.42
2017Bhuvneshwar Kumar*Sunrisers Hyderabad6155.70

*Table updated till Mumbai Indians vs Kings XI Punjab on April 21, 2017.

In IPL 2010, it was another Deccan Chargers bowler Pragyan Ojha who became the Purple Cap holder. The spinner was impressive with fine bowling as he picked 21 wickets in 16 matches. He beat the other Indian spinners like Anil Kumble, Amit Mishra and Harbhajan Singh to emerge as the bowler with most wickets under his belt.

In IPL 2011, Sri Lanka’s bowling great and Mumbai Indians iconic player, Lasith Malinga who was adjudged the Purple Cap winner. The bowler with signature slinging action produced economical spells during the particular season of Indian Premier League to become the highest wicket-taker. Malinga took 28 wickets in 16 matches at a spell-binding economy of 5.95.

In IPL 2012, Delhi Daredevils pacer Morne Morkel became the highest wicket-taker of the season. The immensely lethal South African bowler bagged 25 wickets in 16 matches at 7.19. His best bowling figures of 4/20 came against Kings XI Punjab. He beat Sunil Narine of Kolkata Knight Riders who finished with 24 wickets in 15 matches.

In IPL 2013, Dwayne Bravo picked as much as 32 wickets in 18 matches giving away 497 runs to become the leading wicket-taker of the season. His tally of 32 wickets did earn him not only his first Purple Cap but also remains the most number of wickets scalped by a single player in an IPL edition. He beat James Faulkner of Rajasthan Royals who finished with 28 wickets, Harbhajan Singh of Mumbai Indians who picked 24 wickets. Well, it was one of the most memorable performances by the West Indian bowler who now plays for Gujarat Lions.

In IPL 2014, it was Chennai Super Kings medium pacer Mohit Sharma who finished as the leading wicket-taker in the gala sporting event. The CSK bowler took 23 wickets in 16 matches at an economy of 8.39. In IPL 2015, for the second time West Indies all-rounder Dwayne Bravo bagged the Purple Cap in the tournament. Bravo playing for Chennai Super Kings picked 26 wickets in 17 matches. He beat Lasith Malinga of Mumbai Indians and Yuzvendra Chahal of Royal Challengers Bangalore to become the highest wicket-taker of the season.

In IPL 2016, Bhuvneshwar Kumar of Sunrisers Hyderabad was agonisingly painful for the batsmen from opponents’ team. The young Indian pace battery bowled in perfect line and length deliveries to pick 23 scalps in 17 matches. Despite his economy falling on the expensive side, Kumar got Sunrisers Hyderabad timely breakthrough wickets which contributed immensely in the David Warner-led side’s championships title win. It will be interesting to see who produces scintillating spells in the present Indian Premier League season to bag IPL 2017 Purple Cap trophy finishing as the leading wicket-taker.