The Bharatiya Janata Party took a big lead as millions of votes polled in the Lok Sabha Elections 2014 were counted on May 16. The BJP’s prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi took early lead in both Vadodara in Gujarat and Varanasi in Uttar Pradesh, his two Lok Sabha constituencies.

Also in the lead were BJP veterans Uma Bharti (Jhansi), L.K. Advani (Gandhinagar) and Rajnath Singh (Lucknow). Election officials said all the seats in Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh, all ruled by the Bharatiya Janata Party, were going the BJP way.

Congress president Sonia Gandhi was in the lead in Rae Bareli in Uttar Pradesh. Congress candidates were in the lead in 32 constituencies, mainly in the country’s south. An estimated 550 million people voted in the staggered Lok Sabha election that ended May 12. Watch LIVE video below of ABP News coverage of the Lok Sabha Elections 2014.