Batting first Royal Challengers Bangalore got off to a slow start and
lost two quick wickets as well but Virat Kohli’s brilliance with the
bat made sure they finish on a decent total of 160-6
Bhuvneshwar Kumar once again struck in first over when he trapped
Parthiv Pate (4) lbw after being hit for a four. Chris Gayle and Virat
Kohli struggled to score runs and in last over of power play Gayle
(14) was caught at short third man off leg spinners Karn Sharma.
Yuvraj Singh then joined Kohli and two were kept in check by Karn
Sharma and Parvez Rasool till time-out was taken. After 10 overs RCB
were 48-2. Parvez came back to bowl to his third over Yuvraj Singh
attacked him scoring 12 runs including a four and a six. In next over
Kohli took Karn Sharma for cleaners as he went for 19 runs. Kohli
smashed him for two 6s and a four and RCB after 12 overs were 79-2.
Darren Sammy persisted with Parvez as in his last over he scalped the
prized wicket of Yuvraj (21) who was caught at long-on leaving RCB at
Kohli and de Villiers looked to build the innings then for the final
onslaught. Kohli brought up his 15th IPL fifty and the duo started
playing big shots. In 16th over Kohli and de Villiers clobbered Sammy
for 19 runs to see RCB gaining the impetus for final overs.
Against the run of play RCB lost wicket of skipper Kohli for well-made
67 off 41 balls in 18th over when he mistimed a shot off Irfan Pathan
and top edge fled to long off. De Villiers (29) too fell in next over
when he tried to sweep off Bhuvi but was clean bowled leaving RCB
152-5 at the end of 19 overs.
Steyn bowled the last over and gave away only eight runs to see RCB
finish on 160-6 in 20 overs.
Bhuvneshwar Kumar bagged two wickets while Steyn, Parvez and Karn
picked one wicket each

Power Play: 25-2

Playing XI
RCB: Chris Gayle, Parthiv Patel(w), Virat Kohli(c), AB de Villiers,
Yuvraj Singh, Sachin Rana, Mitchell Starc, Abu Nechim, Varun Aaron,
Muttiah Muralitharan, Yuzvendra Chahal

SRH: Shikhar Dhawan, Aaron Finch, Naman Ojha(w), David Warner,
Venugopal Rao, Darren Sammy(c), Irfan Pathan, Parvez Rasool, Karn
Sharma, Dale Steyn, Bhuvneshwar Kumar