Six new Indian Institutes of Technology (IITs) will be set up in places like Jammu and Tirupati as President Pranab Mukherjee gave his nod to a law in this regard.

As per the Institutes of Technology (Amendment) Act, 2016, which got Mukherjee’s assent on Tuesday, IITs will also be started in Palakkad (Kerala), Goa, Dharward (Karnataka) and Bhilai (Chhattisgarh).

The law has also brought the Indian School of Mines (ISM), Dhanbad under its ambit. The ISM will now be called Indian Institute of Technology (Indian School of Mines), Dhanbad, the legislation said.

All these institutions will be institutions of national importance, as per the Act.

The Lok Sabha had on July 25 passed the Institutes of Technology (Amendment) Bill. It got Rajya Sabha approval on August 2.

The President has also given his assent to a law for establishment of a National Institute of Technology (NIT) in Andhra Pradesh.

The institute will act as an institution of national importance, as per National Institutes of Technology, Science Education and Research (Amendment) Act, 2016, which has been notified by the Centre.

Meanwhile, the government said that the Centre had spent Rs 5621.37 crore on 40 central universities and Rs 4135.85 crore on 22 IITs during the 2015-16 academic year. The HRD Ministry also spent Rs 2577.65 crore on 31 NITs and the Indian Institute of Engineering Science and Technology, Shibpur, as per the data provided by Minister of State for Human Resource Development Mahendra Nath Pandey in a written reply to a question in Rajya Sabha.

About Rs 120 crore was spent on the Indian Institute Science (IIS), Bangalore while Rs 463 crore was spent on 19 IIMs and Rs 550 crore on six Indian Institutes of Science Education and Research.

Besides, Rs 609 crore was spent by the Centre on 159 state universities, Rs 107.33 crore on IGNOU and Rs 86 crore on three Schools of Planning and Architecture

Source: PTI