New Delhi, March 22: The BJP Saturday fielded actor Paresh Rawal as party candidate from Ahmedabad East Lok Sabha constituency in Gujarat, instead of sitting MP Harin Pathak.

The central election committee announced five names for Gujarat including Prabhatsinh Pratapsinh Chauhan, sitting MP from Panchmahal. (Read: BJP chief calls up Uddhav as ties head downhill)

Rawal joined the league of Bollywood actors fielded by the party including Hema Malini and Shatrughan Sinha. (Read: MJ Akbar, NK Singh join BJP, JD-U fumes)

Pathak is a seven-time MP.

The party also announced three candidates for by elections to Gujarat assembly.