Lucknow, Apr 8: Electioneering ended today for the first phase of Lok Sabha polls to be held on April 10 in ten constituencies of west Uttar Pradesh. The campaigning for the first phase of polls ended this evening,” UP Chief Electoral Officer Umesh Sinha said. A total of 1.69 crore voters, 93.6 lakh men and 76.25 lakh women, will decide the fate of 154 candidates, who are contesting from Muzaffarnagar, Saharanpur, Kairana, Aligarh, Bijnor, Meerut, Baghpat, Gautambudh Nagar, Ghaziabad and Bulandshahr LS seats.

A total of 8,435 polling centres and 16,788 polling stations have been set up in these 10 LS constituencies. Prominent among those who are contesting in this phase include Union Minister and Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) chief Ajit Singh from his traditional Baghpat constituency while actor-turned politician Jaya Prada from Bijnor on the party ticket.

Film stars Nagma and Raj Babbar are in the fray on Congress’ ticket from Meerut and Ghaziabad respectively. Besides them, Arvind Kejriwal-led AAP has fielded Shazia Illmi while BJP Gen(retd) VK Singh from Ghaziabad. Former Mumbai Police commissioner Satyapal Singh (BJP) is contesting against the RLD chief from Baghpat and Hukum Singh of BJP from Kairana.

Sitting BSP MP Kadir Rana, who is also an accused in Muzaffarnagar riots, and Sanjiv Baliya of BJP are in the fray from Muzaffarnagar Lok Sabha constituency.