Final phase of Lok Sabha Elections begins in Assam

Assam enters in the final phase of Lok Sabha Polls today with over Over 9.4 million people eligible to exercise their ‘Right to Vote’ among which 4879424 are males, 4542553 are females and there are  65 belonging to ‘others’ category and  15689 belonging to ‘Service’ category.

The last phase will see 74 candidates in fray contesting for 6 Lok Sabha constituencies. Out of total 14 constituencies of Assam, 5 seats went to poll on 7th April and 3 seats went to poll on 12th April. After an exceptional response for first two phases, the third phase has 74 candidates in fray out of which 9 are female candidates.

The constituencies to go on polls today are Dhubri, Kokrajhar, Barpeta, Gauhati, Mangaldai and Nagaona.

Dhubri will see a cut-throat fight between sitting MP and All India United Democratic Front chief Badaruddin Ajmal and Congress candidate Wazed Ali Choudhury, while Kokrajhar constituency will see a clash between Chandan Brahma (BPF), Naba Kumar Sarania (Independent), Urkhao Gwra Brahma (Independent) and former Meghalaya governor R.S. Mooshahary of Trinamool Congress.

In Barpeta, AIUDF candidate Siraj Uddin Ajmal and sitting Congress MP Ismail Hussain, BJP’s Chandra Mohan Patowary and AGP’s Phani Bhushan Choudhury are in fray.

In Guwahati, it is a fight between sitting BJP MP Bijoya Chakraborty and Congress candidate Manas Bora. And not to miss out, AGP’s Birendra Prasad Baishya is also likely to give a tough fight in the constituency.

Nowgong, which has BJP’s strong hold, will witness clash between sitting BJP MP Rajen Gohain, Jonjonali Baruah of the Congress and AIUDF’s Aditya Langthasa.