Maharashtra enters into the second phase of Lok Sabha elections 2014

Maharashtra, where nearly 3.25 crore voters will be sealing the fate of 358 candidate enters in the second phase of the Lok Sabha elections. About 3,24,27,558 voters in 19 constituencies of western Maharashtra, Marathwada, Konkan will cast their votes in the state today.

In the second phase, there are 358 candidates in fray, including 24 women and 201 independents. There are 1,69,54,391 men and 1,53,77,605 female voters voting in the second phase. There are 306 voters in the others category and 95,256 in the service category. The constituencies which will go to polls today are Hingoli, Nanded, Beed, Parbhani, Osmanabad and Latur in Marathwada, Pune, Baramati, Shirur, Maval, Solapur, Madha, Sangli, Satara, Kolhapur, Hathkanangale in western Maharashtra; Shirdi, Ahmednagar in north Maharashtra and Ratnagiri-Sindhudurg in Konkan.

The second phase will see heavyweights of politics like Former Maharashtra chief minister Ashok Chavan, Union Home Minister Sushil Kumar Shinde, veteran BJP leader Gopinath Munde, Nationalist Congress Party(NCP) chief and Union Agriculture Minister Sharad Pawar’s daughter and generation-next of politics Supriya Sule and farmers’ leader Raju Shetty trying to grab their respective seats.

The largest constituency to go polls electorate wise is Maval with 19,46,127 voters and the smallest constituency electorate wise is Ratnagiri-Sindhudurg with 13,63,957 voters.