UP polls: First phase begins in Lok Sabha Elections 2014
Voters in UP

Lucknow, Apr 10: The first phase of polling in Uttar Pradesh began today with 10 of the state’s 80 Lok Sabha seats going to polls in the Elections 2014 (16th Lok Sabha elections).

A total of 146 candidates, including 50 independent ones, are in the fray for phase one in UP from the constituencies of Saharanpur, Kairana, Muzaffarnagar, Bijnor, Meerut, Baghpat, Ghaziabad, Gautam Buddha Nagar, Bulandshahr and Aligarh.

A total of 1,74,12,605 electors, including 95,74,053 male and 78,27,125 female, among others, will cast their franchise at 16,788 polling stations across UP.

Prominent candidates contesting include former Mumbai police commissioner Satyapal Singh (Bharatiya Janata Party – Baghpat), actress Nagma (Congress – Meerut), actress-politician Jaya Prada (Rashtriya Lok Dal – Bijnor), actor-politician Raj Babbar (Congress – Ghaziabad), former Army chief General V K Singh (BJP – Ghaziabad), Ajit Singh (Chief of RLD – Baghpat), Shazia Ilmi (AAP – Muzaffarnagar) and Muzaffarnagar riots accused Kadir Rana (BSP – Muzaffarnagar).

The Indian National Congress (INC) are contesting on 6 seats while the BJP, the Samajwadi Party (SP) and the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) have fielded candidates on 10 seats each. The RLD is contesting on 4 seats.