New Delhi, May 20: BJP’s Prime Ministerial candidate Narendra Modi will take oath as 14th Prime Minister of India on May 26. Modi was today elected as BJP and NDA group leader. Senior leader L K Advani proposed Modi’s name as the group leader which was seconded by a number of senior party leaders. Later the BJP leader was elected as NDA group leader in the presence of 29 alliance partners.

Following Modi’s election as NDA group leader, the alliance partners led by NDA chairman L K Advani and BJP president Rajnath Singh drove to Rashtrapati Bhawan and submitted the letter of support to the President and stake claim to form the government. Narendra Modi called on the President who in turn invited the BJP leader to form the government.

The oath taking ceremony is scheduled to take place at 6 PM on May 26. It is expected that the cabinet will also be sworn in alongwith Modi.

Speaking to reporters after the meeting, Modi said: “The president has given me a letter…the oath taking ceremony will take place here (Rashtrapati Bhavan) on May 26 at 6 p.m.”

“I thank all of you,” he told hundreds of media persons. He also showed them the letter that he received from the president. During their meeting, both Modi and Mukherjee shook hands and exchanged bouquets.

The president congratulated Modi on his victory.