Imphal, Jan 12 (PTI) Sashastra Seema Bal won their first match of the tournament when they edged out Hockey Madhya Pradesh 5-4 in the Senior Men National Championship 2018 (B Division), here today.

Naveen Kumar (17 , 30 ), Vinay Vishwkarma (18 ), Ashutosh Kumar (43 ) and Agandeep Singh (43 ) scored goals for SSB while Meet Singh Thakur (18 , 48 ), Sushil Maharashi (20 ) and Prakash Singh Rawat (33 ) scored for Hockey Madhya Pradesh.

In the opening match of the day, Sports Authority of India defeated Telangana Hockey with a comprehensive 8-0 margin in Pool A to secure their second consecutive victory of the competition.

Pravakar Minz (15 , 41 ), Manish Sharma (3 ), B N Sridhar (26 ), Pramod (28 ), captain Harshal Sharma (41 ), Mangra Bhengra (44 ) and Abhishek (60 ) scored for SAI.

In the second Pool A match of the day, Assam Hockey defeated Tripura Hockey 5-0 to register their first victory of the competition.

Goals for Assam Hockey were scored by captain Harvir Singh (38 , 42 ), Junaidul Islam (4 ), Niranjan Boro (58 ) and Papumoni Saikia (60 ).

In a Pool B match, Canara Bank produced a great performance to win their third consecutive match of the competition to defeat Hockey Andhra Pradesh 4-1.

Canara Bank scored twice in the 12th and 23rd minutes to take a 2-0 lead but Hockey Andhra Pradesh pulled a goal back in the 35th minute through Venkata Sree Balaji Aripeneni.

However, Canara Bank scored twice again to secure a 4-1 victory. Nikkin Thimmaiah s brace (23 , 37 ) and a goal each from G N Pruthviraj (12 ) and K P Somaiah secured the win for Canara Bank.

In another Pool C encounter, Food Corporation of India registered their second victory in three matches when they beat Chhattisgarh Hockey 9-2.

Central Industrial Security Force and Vidarbha Hockey Association played out a 3-3 draw in Pool B which meant that both the teams remain winless in the competition.

Vidarbha Hockey Association looked like they would run away with the match as they took a 3-1 lead but Central Industrial Security Force scored two goals in the last ten minutes to play out a 3-3 draw.

Goals for Central Industrial Security Force were scored by Niraj Yadav (28 , 50 ) and Prince Kerketta (57 ) while Vidarbha Hockey Association s goals were scored by Akbar Khan (12 ), Arif Shaikh (41 ) and Naresh Telang (43 ).

This is published unedited from the PTI feed.