Kolkata, July 17 (PTI) West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, along with her party MPs, cast votes in the presidential election today with all 294 legislators participating in the exercise.

Senior TMC leaders like Subrata Mukherjee, Partha Chatterjee and Sudip Bandyopadhyay cast their votes along with Rajiv Banerjee, Shashi Panja and Lakshmi Ratan Shukla.

Leader of Opposition Abdul Mannan, Manoj Chakraborty, CPI(M)’s Sujan Chakraborty, BJP president Dilip Ghosh along with three party MLAs and other three from its political ally Gorkha Janmukti Morcha (GJM) – Saritha Rai, Rohit Sharma and Amar Singh Rai – also exercised their franchise.

Out of its 42 MPs, (Lok Sabha 31 and Rajya Sabha 11), TMC MP Sugata Bose, Deepak Adhikari and KD Singh cast their votes in Parliament while suspended party Rajya Sabha MP Kunal Ghosh was the last person to exercise franchise at the Assembly today.

TMC MP from Krishnanagar Lok Sabha constituency Tapas Pal, who is jailed in Bhubaneswar in connection with Rose Valley chit fund scam, has not cast his vote.

The two contestants for the post of the country’s next president are NDA candidate Ram Nath Kovind and Opposition’s Meira Kumar.

The TMC, CPI(M) and Congress’ have already expressed support to Opposition nominee Meira Kumar.

Legislators were not allowed to carry their personal pens inside the voting chamber and provided with a specially-designed marker to mark their ballots as per the Election Commission’s instructions.

This is published unedited from the PTI feed.