New Delhi, Apr 9 (PTI) The Delhi Assembly today formed a five-member committee to suggest solutions for tackling the problem of encroachment on the Public Works Department’s roads.

The panel will work in coordination with the Assembly’s Standing Committee on Public Utilities and Civic Amenities.

PWD Minister Satyendar Jain told the House that the Public Works Department does not have power to remove encroachment even on its roads. Municipal Corporations have the power to remove encroachment on city’s roads.

Jain said around 35 legislators have also handed over a written complaint to him on the encroachment on roads in their respective constituencies.

The minister said that due to the encroachment, fire tenders and ambulance often do not reach on time.

The committee will suggest solutions to tackle encroachment on PWD’s roads and also study laws of other states to remove the same.

MLAs Madan Lal, Sourabh Bharadwaj, Naresh, Jagdish Pradhan and Om Prakash Sharma have been named as the members of the committee.

This is published unedited from the PTI feed.