Mumbai, Apr 13 (PTI) Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis today congratulated artistes from the state who won at the 65th National Film Awards 2017 that were announced in New Delhi today.

Fadnavis congratulated Prasad Oak (Kachcha Limbu), Yashraj Karhade (Mhorkya), Sanjeev Monga and Tenzin Kunchok (Mrutyubhog), Nagraj Manjule and Avinash Sonawane (Pavsacha Nibandh), Suyash Shinde(Mayat), Rajendra Jungle (Chanderinama) and Nipun Dharmadhikari (Dhappa)for their wins in various categories.

He called it a moment of pride for Maharashtra, which was the birthplace of films in India, and added that the awards were a testimony of the progress made by Marathi cinema.

He congratulated Amit Masurkar, director of “Newton” which won the Rajat Kamal for the best film in Hindi as also the makers of “Mhorkya” which won the best film in the Children’s category and “Kachcha Limbu” which won the Rajat Kamal for best film in Marathi.

This is published unedited from the PTI feed.