Amaravati, Nov 15 (PTI) Senior TDP legislator N Md Farook today assumed charge as chairman of the Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council.

Farook was unanimously elected as chairman of the 58- member Upper House in May this year.

Hailing from Nandyal in Kurnool district, Farook had been an MLA for three terms and served as a minister in the Cabinets of N T Rama Rao and Chandrababu Naidu in united Andhra Pradesh.

He also served as Deputy Speaker of the AP Legislative Assembly.

The chairman’s post was vacant following the retirement of incumbent A Chakrapani in May.

Legislative Affairs Minister Yanamala Ramakrishnudu and other senior members of the council congratulated Farook on assuming charge.

Meanwhile, TDP member Payyavula Kesav has been appointed as Government Chief Whip in the council. Four other TDP members were appointed as Whips.

This is published unedited from the PTI feed.