Shillong, Sep 16 (PTI) Three former Congress ministers and two party legislators did not apply for party tickets for the Meghalaya assembly polls next year in an apparent indication that they are not seeking re-election from the party.

Till late last night, the last date for submitting application for Congress tickets, former deputy chief minister Rowell Lyngdoh, ministers Prestone Tynsong and Sniawbhalang Dhar did not apply, party officials said.

Suspended legislator and chief executive member of the tribal Khasi Hills Autonomous District Council P N Syiem and Dhar s MLA brother Ngaitlang Dhar also did not apply for party tickets, they said.

Urban Affairs Minister Ronnie V Lyngdoh told PTI that over a hundred candidates have applied for party tickets for the 60 member house.

Their names will be declared within the next two months after scrutinising by the concerned party officials.

The ruling Congress has 30 MLAs in the house while there are eight opposition United Democratic Party lawmakers, 4 from Hills State People s Democratic Party and two each of the NCP and the NPP while the rest are Independents.

The block Congress committees have been revamped and new block leaders appointed ahead of the assembly polls.

This is published unedited from the PTI feed.