Islamabad, Apr 16 (PTI) Cricketer-turned-politician Imran Khan’s Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaaf party has finalised three nominees for the position of caretaker prime minister for the interim government, a party spokesperson said today.

Retired Justice Tassaduq Hussain Jillani, industrialist Abdur Razzaq Dawood and banker-cum-economist Ishrat Hussain were the three nominees finalised by the party for the position of caretaker prime minister, party spokesman Fawad Chaudhry was quoted as saying by Dawn News TV.

The Pakistan Muslim League (Nawaz) government will conclude its five-year term on May 31, after which the caretaker setup will be put in place to hold elections, expected in July or the first week of August.

According to the party, Shah Mehmood Qureshi will present the names to Leader of the Opposition in National Assembly Khursheed Shah, who is responsible for forwarding opposition nominees for the position to the prime minister.

Shah and Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi have already held the first round of consultations regarding the all-important position as the responsibility for holding free and fair elections is tied to it.

Justice Jillani has served as the chief justice of Pakistan between 2013 and 2014 and was also appointed as an ad hoc judge on behalf of Pakistan at the International Court of Justice in Indian national Kulbhushan Jadhav’s case.

Jadhav, 47, was sentenced to death by a Pakistani military court on charges of espionage and terrorism in April last year, following which India moved The Hague-based ICJ in May.

Economist Ishrat Hussain has served as the governor of State Bank of Pakistan as well as dean of the Institute of Business Administration, Karachi.

Dawood, an industrialist by profession, served as commerce minister in former president Pervez Musharraf’s cabinet between 1999 and 2002.

Meanwhile, party sources said that the names of Dr Salman Shah, Shahid Kardar and former bureaucrat Tariq Khosa have been finalised for the position of caretaker chief minister of Punjab.

This is published unedited from the PTI feed.