Qualifier Lakshya Sen shocked men’s third seed Shreyansh Jaiswal in a five-game all-Indian battle to enter the second round of the USD 17,500 Tata Open India International Challenge badminton tournament here today.
Sen, from the Bengaluru-based Prakash Padukone academy which is conducting the tournament at the Cricket club of India here, rallied from 1-2 to turn the tables on Jaiswal 12-10 6-11 9-11 11-8 11-2.
Top seeded Pratul Joshi reached round two after getting past Singapore rival Zin Rei Ryan Ng, while second seeded Siril Verma disposed of Sri Lanka rival in straight games, two of which were won over extra points.
The matches are conducted in a new scoring system on the advise of the Badminton World Federation which has introduced it in the lowest two levels of international tournaments.
Women’s singles (1st round)(All Indians unless stated otherwise): Xi Qing Ong (SIN) bt Nangsal Tamang (NEP) 12-10 9-11 11-8 11-3; Shreyanshi Pardeshi bt Vrushali Gummadi 1-1 Ret; Gabriela Meilani Moningka (INA)[7] bt Yun Liang 4-11 11-4 11-9 8-11 14-12 (SIN); Aakarshi Kashyap bt Neha Pandit 11-5 9-11 11-4 11-7.
Yin Fun Lim (MAS)[3] bt Komal Antil 11-3 11-4 11-2; Mugdha Agrey bt Deepali Gupta 11-4 11-4 11-7; Hui Zhen Grace Chua (SIN)[5] bt Desandha Vegarani Putri (INA) 11-8 11-2 4-11 8-11 12-10; Tanishq Mamilla Palli bt Rucha Nikam 11-3 11-7 11-4; Ira Sharma bt Reshma Karthik[8] 12-10 11-6 11-8; Riya Pillai bt Preethi Konadam 11-5 11-2 14-12.
Soniia Cheah (MAS)[4] bt Lalita Dahiya 11-5 13-11 11-4; Sri Krishna Priya Kudaravalli bt Manali Sinha 11-5 11-6 8-11 11-7; Gregoria Mariska (INA)[6] bt Ren-Ne Ong (SIN) 11-2 11-5 11-3; Sai Uttejitha Rao Chukka bt Rini Tandel 10-12 11-4 11-6 11-5; Ying Ying Lee (MAS)[2] bt Mayuri Yadav 11-4 11-3 11-3. (More