Ahmedabad, Dec 8: The Abdasa, Mandvi and Bhuj Vidhan Sabha constituency which falls in Kachchh district will go to polls on December 9 in the first phase of Gujarat Assembly elections 2017. While the Abdasa Assembly constituency is currently held by the Congress, the Mandvi and Bhuj Vidhan Sabha seats are with Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). The election result of Abdasa, Mandvi and Bhuj Assembly constituency will be declared on December 18.

In Abdasa Assembly constituency, the contest is between BJP’s Chhabilbhai Patel and Congress candidate Pradyumansinh Jadeja. In 2012 Gujarat Assembly elections, Chhabilbhai Patel had won the seat on the Congress ticket, defeating BJP’s Bhanushali Jayantilal Parsottam.

The sitting MLA from Mandvi Assembly constituency, which is reserved from an ST candidate, is BJP’s Chheda Tarachand Jagashi. Jagashi defeated Congress candidate Parmar Kishorsinh Rajendrasinh in 2012 Gujarat Polls. This year, both the parties gave chance to new faces. While the BJP fielded Virendrasinh Jadeja, the Congress nominated Shaktisinh Gohil.

In Bhuj Assembly constituency, Dr.Nimaben Aacharya of the BJP had won the election against Congress’ Amirali Hajihushen Lodhiya in 2012 Gujarat polls. Nimaben Aacharya is contesting to retain the seat, the Congress fielded Adam B Chaki.

Gujarat Assembly Election Results 2012

NoAssembly ConstituencyWinning CandidatePartyVoteRunner-up CandidatePartyvote
1AbdasaChhabilbhai Naranbhai PatelCongress60704Bhanushali Jayantilal ParsottamBJP53091
2MandviChheda Tarachand JagashiBJP61984Parmar Kishorsinh RajendrasinhCongress53478
3BhujDr.Nimaben AacharyaBJP69174Amirali Hajihushen LodhiyaCongress60201

Gujarat Assembly Elections 2017: List of BJP, Congress Candidates

NoAssembly ConstituencyBJP CandidateCongress Candidate
4Abdasa Chhabilbhai PatelPradyumansinh Jadeja
5Mandvi Virendrasinh JadejaShaktisinh Gohil
6BhujDr.Nimaben AacharyaAdam B Chaki

In 2012 Gujarat Assembly Elections, out of 182 seats,  Congress won 57 whereas the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) registered the victory on 119 seats. However, the grand old party was left with 43 MLAs after over dozen of them defected.