New Delhi, Dec 5: Voting for Gujarat Assembly elections 2017 on seats in Vadodara will be held in second phase – December 14. While the primary contest is between the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Congress, parties like the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and All India Hindustan Congress Party are also in the fight apart from several independent candidates.

Gujarat Assembly Elections 2017: Full Coverage


Akota, constituency number 143 of the 182-seat Gujarat Assembly will vote to elect its new MLA on December 14. From the BJP it is Seemaben Akshaykumar Mohile who is bscontesting against the Congress’ Ranjit Sharadchandra Chavan. Former Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Mayawati’s BSP has given ticket to Pathan Mohammad Soyebkhan (Guddu) and the NCP to Nikhil Yatin Patel. All India Hindustan Congress Party’s Rushikant Shastri is also in the fray.

In 2012 Assembly elections, BJP’s Saurabh Patel had defeated Congress’ Patel Lalitbhai Thakorbhai by a handsome margin of over 49,000 votes.


Apart from the BJP, Congress and BSP, GJCP has also fielded its candidate from Raopura Assembly seat where voting is scheduled on December 14. BJP’s Rajendra Trivedi ‘Rajubhai Vakil’, Congress’ Chandrakant R. Shrivastav ‘Bhatthubhai’ and BSP’s Rohit Maheshkumar Govindbhai are contesting the Assembly election from Akota.

BJP’s Rajendra Trivedihad defeated Congress’ Jayesh Thakkar by over 41,000 votes in the last Assembly election in 2012.


Manjalpur Vidhan Sabha seat Vadodara will vote in the second phase on December 14. The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) is also in the contest against the BJP and Congress. The BSP, Shiv Sena and SUCI(C) are also in the fray.

In 2012, BJP’s Yogesh Patel got the better of Congress’ Gandhi Chinnam Satyam by an overwhelming margin of over 51,000 votes.


Voting in Padra Vidhan Sabha seat will also be held on December 14 – the second of the two-phase Gujarat Assembly election. BJP’s Dineshbhai Balubhai Patel, Congress’ Jashpalsinh Mahendrasinh Thakor and BSP’s Navnitbhai Manubhai Parmar are in the fray. NCP’s Pankajbhai Balvantray Thakar, GJCP’s Vinubhai Mohansinh Gohil and All India Hindustan Congress Party’s Jashubhai Chhitabhai Parmar is also contesting the state election.

BJP’s Dineshbhai Balubhai Patel had defeated Congress’ Thakor Jashpalsinh Mahendrasinh over 5000 votes.


Constituency number 147 of the Gujarat Vidhan Sabha – Karjan – will vote on December 14. The BSP, AAP and JD(U) are also contesting the Assembly election apart from the BJP and Congress. Several independent candidates are also in the fight.

In the last election in 2012, BJP’s Satishbhai Motibhai Patel managed to defeat Congress’ Akshaykumar Ishwarbhai Patel by just over 3000 votes.