Hyderabad, March 20: The Telugu Desam Party sweeped the MLA elections on nine seats of Andhra Pradesh on Monday as it won Kadapa, Nellore and Kurnool. TDP’s Vakati Narayana Reddy has won the Nellore MLC by 85 votes. TDP’s B-Tech Ravi has won the Kadapa MLC. In Kurnool, TDP’s Shilpa Chakrapani won by a difference of 64 votes. The party had won the remaining six seats, namely Srikakulam, East Godvari, West Godvaari (two seats), Chittoor, Anantapur unopposed.

The counting of votes for Andhra Pradesh and Telangana MLC elections 2017 was underway on Monday. The Election Commission held elections in nine constituencies of Andhra Pradesh including one legislative council in Telangana. The term of nine legislative councillors will come to an end on March 29 and May 1 respectively. The Biennial Elections to Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council were held on March 9, 2017 and those for Telangana were held on March 17. Tight security was in place at the counting centres.

At the Kadapa seat, it was a major blow to Opposition YSR Congress with YS Vivekananda Reddy being defeated. This is the first win for the TDP in Kadapa, which has been the stronghold of late Chief Minister YS. Rajasekhara Reddy’s family. Vivekananda Reddy, younger brother of Rajasekhara Reddy, was elected twice to the Lok Sabha from Kadapa constituency, twice to the state assembly from Pulivendula, and once to the state legislative council from Kadapa Local Authorities’ Constituency (LAC).

Andhra Pradesh

Name of the ConstituenciesName of Retiring MembersDate of Retirement
Anantapur Local Authorities’Mettu Govinda Reddy29.03.2017
Kadapa Local Authorities’Narayana Reddy Chadipiralla29.03.2017
Nellore Local Authorities’Narayana Reddy Vakati01.05.2017
West Godavari Local Authorities’Angara Ramamohan01.05.2017
Meka Seshubabu01.05.2017
East Godavari Local Authorities’Boddu Bhaskara Ramarao01.05.2017
Srikakulam Local Authorities’Peerukatla Viswa Prasada Rao01.05.2017
Chitoor Local Authorities’Sri. B. Naresh Kumar Reddy01.05.2017
Kurnool Local Authorities’Sri Silpa Chakrapanireddy01.05.2017 


Name of the ConstituencyName of Retiring MemberDate of Retirement
Hyderabad Local Authorities’Syed Aminul Hasan Jafri01.05.2017