Ahmedabad, Dec 8: Polling for election results of Anjar, Gandhidham and Rapar Assembly constituencies that fall in Kachchh district will be held on December 9 in the first phase of Gujarat Assembly polls 2017. Stakes are high for the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) as it had won the election in Anjar, Gandhidham and Rapar Vidhan Sabha seats in 2012. The Gujarat Assembly election results 2017, including Anjar, Gandhidham and Rapar, will be declared on December 18.

The Anjar Assembly constituency witnessed another electoral battle between the BJP candidate Ahir Vasanbhai Gopalbhai and Congress nominee V K Humbal. Gopalbhai had won election from Anjar Vidhan Sabha seat by 4728 votes against Humbal in 2012 Gujarat Assembly polls.

In Gandhidham Assembly constituency, which is reserved for an SC candidate, both the BJP and the Congress fielded new faces. BJP’s Maltiben K. Maheshvari is pitted against Congress candidate Kishorbhai G Pingol. The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) nominated Govind Danicha, making the electoral contest a three-cornered battle.

The Rapar Assembly constituency will see a fight between BJP’s Pankajbhai Mehta and Santok Arethiya of the Congress. In 2012 Gujarat Assembly polls, BJP candidate Vaghajibhai Dharamshibhai Patel had bagged the Rapar seat defeating Congress’ Gada Babulal Meghaji.

Gujarat Assembly Election Results 2012:

NoAssembly ConstituencyWinning CandidatePartyVoteRunner-up CandidatePartyvote
4AnjarAhir Vasanbhai GopalbhaiBJP64789V K HumbalCongress60061
5GandhidhamMaheshwari Ramesh VachchhrajBJP72988Chavada Jayshreeben AjitbhaiCongress51675
6RaparVaghajibhai Dharamshibhai PatelBJP55280Gada Babulal MeghajiCongress46064

Gujarat Assembly Elections 2017: List of BJP, Congress Candidates

NoAssembly ConstituencyBJP CandidateCongress Candidate
4Anjar Ahir Vasanbhai GopalbhaiV K Humbal
5Gandhidham Maltiben K. MaheshvariKishorbhai G Pingol
6RaparPankajbhai MehtaSantok Arethiya

In 2012 Gujarat Assembly Elections, out of 182 seats,  Congress won 57 whereas the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) registered the victory on 119 seats. However, the grand old party was left with 43 MLAs after over dozen of its legislators left the party. The Gujarat Assembly election is a battle of prestige for the BJP, which is eyeing a record sixth term in Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s home state. On the other hand, the Congress, under Rahul Gandhi, is trying hard to increase its numbers after back-to-back poll debacles in several states post 2014 Lok Sabha defeat.