Araria (Bihar), Mar 14: The result for Araria, Bhabhua, Jehanabad bye-elections in the Bihar Bypoll 2018 will be declared today. The counting of votes will begin at around 8 AM and the early trends are expected to start emerging from 10 AM onwards. The voting for Lok Sabha Araria seat, and two assembly seats – Bhabhua, Jehanabad – bye-elections was held on March 11 from 7 AM to 5 PM.

While a 57 per cent voter turnout was recorded in Araria, Jehanabad and Bhabhua recorded a voter turnout of 50.6 and 54.3 per cent, respectively. The bypolls are seen as a litmus test for Chief Minister Nitish Kumar after he pulled out of the state’s Grand Alliance and joined the BJP.

The Bihar bypoll 2018 was necessitated on Araria seat after it fell vacant after the death of Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) MP Mohammad Taslimuddin. The key contenders for the seat are RJD’s Sarafaraz Alam, Taslimuddin’s son, and the BJP’s Pradip Singh. (Bihar Bypoll 2018 LIVE: 57% Voter Turnout in Araria, 54.3% in Bhabhua, 50.6% in Jehanabad Till 5 PM)

The Bhabua assembly seat got vacant after the death of BJP’s Anand Bhushan Pandey, and the party has fielded his widow Rinki Rani Pandey. Another key candidate for the seat is Shambhu Patel from Congress.

The death of RJD MLA Mundrika Singh Yadav necessitated the bypoll for Jehanabad seat, and his son Uday Yadav is contesting for the seat. Another key candidate in the fray is JDU’s Abhiram Sharma.

The Bihar bye-elections 2018 are being seen as a major test for grand alliance of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-National Democratic Alliance (NDA) combine and Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), Congress and Hindustan Awam Morcha- Secular (HAM-S) ahead of Lok Sabha Elections 2019.