Mumbai, Apr 6: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) will celebrate its 38th foundation day at Mumbai’s Bandra Kurla Complex (BKC) ground on Friday. BJP was formed on April 6 in the year 1980. The formation of BJP, one of the major political parties in India and the biggest party in terms of representation in Parliament and state assemblies, began when Bharatiya Jana Sangh merged with several other parties to form the Janata Party. Click here to catch live updates on BJP Foundation Day.

The aim of the merge of many parties to form the Bharatiya Janata Party was to defeat Indira Gandhi and it did in 1977 general elections. The government was formed with Morarji Desai as Prime Minister. Atal Bihari Vajpayee was appointed as the Minister of External Affairs.

Today on the 38th Foundation Day of the BJP, let’s look at the journey and the surge of the saffron party from the year 1980 to 2018:

1. In 1980, the BJP was formed as a separate party after internal differences in the Janata Party resulted in the collapse of the Janata government in 1979.

2. In 1984, Advani was appointed the president of the party.

3. Giving its support to the Ram Janmabhoomi movement made the party win the 86 Lok Sabha seats in 1989 making its support pivotal to the VP Singh government. When the BJP withdrew its support from the Singh govt, it led to the fresh general elections. The result was BJP’s increased tally.

4. In 1996, a coalition of regional parties made the government but only for a short period of time. The BJP in 1998 contested the mid-term elections leading a coalition called the National Democratic Alliance (NDA). Atal Bihari Vajpayee was yet again appointed as the PM of the country.

5. In May 1999,  AIADMK’s Jayalalitha withdrew her support resulting in yet another polls.

6. In October, same year, the NDA won a total of 303 seats in Parliament without the support of AIADMK. Vajpayee was made the PM for the third time.

7. In 2004, the NDA was defeated by the Congress party and its allies, who have won 222 seats compared to NDA’s 186.

8. The Bharatiya Janata Party made a comeback in the year 2014 elections when it won a total of 336 seats in the 543-seat Lok Sabha. Narendra Modi was sworn in as the Prime Minister.

The mega event, likely to begin at 11:30 AM, is expected to be attended by Maharashtra chief minister Devendra Fadnavis, Union minister Nitin Gadkari, Union ministers from Maharashtra and other BJP leaders. Party chief Amit Shah, who arrived in the city on Thursday, is likely to address nearly 3 lakh BJP workers at the event. In view of the BJP’s mega event, all the major roads towards Bandra and BKC are expected to be blocked.

The event is being looked at the party’s show of strength ahead of the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. The party has booked as many as 28 trains, 50,000 private buses, jeeps and vehicles to bring party cadres for the mega event.