New Delhi, April 15: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Sunday released the list of candidates for upcoming Legislative Council(MLC) elections in Uttar Pradesh and Bihar. The term of office of 13 members of Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council and 11 members of Bihar Legislative Council elected by the Members of Legislative Assembly will expire on May 5th and May 6th, 2018 respectively.

In Uttar Pradesh, the term of office of 13 members of Legislative Council elected by the Members of Legislative Assembly will expire on May 5, which includes names like former Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Bharatiya Janata Party Mohsin Raza and others.

While in Bihar, the term of 11 members of Legislative Council which is due to expire on May 6 are- Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, Deputy Chief Minister Sushil Kumar Modi, former Bihar chief minister Rabri Devi and others.

Voting for 13 seats in Uttar Pradesh legislative council and 11 in Bihar legislative council will be held on April 26 and the results will be declared on the same day.

Here is the list of candidates:

1.UTTAR PRADESHDr. Mahendra Singh
2.UTTAR PRADESHShri Moshin Raja
3.UTTAR PRADESHDr. Smt Sarojini Agarwal
4.UTTAR PRADESHShri Bukkal Nawab
5.UTTAR PRADESHShri Yashwant Singh
6.UTTAR PRADESHShri Jaiveer Singh
7.UTTAR PRADESHShri Vidhyasagar Sonkar
8.UTTAR PRADESHShri Vijay Bahadur Pathak
9.UTTAR PRADESHShri Ashok Kataria
10.UTTAR PRADESHShri Ashok Dhawan


1.BIHARShri Sushil Kumar Modi
2.BIHARShri Mangal Pandey
3.BIHARShri Sanjay Paswan

Recently, By-polls were held in Bihar and Uttar Pradesh. The Uttar Pradesh and Bihar Lok Sabha and Assembly by-election results gave a major blow to the Bhartiya Janta Party (BJP). The party, which is in power in both the states, has lost four of the five seats including the Gorakhpur and Phulpur seats in Uttar Pradesh. The Gorakhpur seat was represented by chief minister Yogi Adityanath. While in Bihar, the BJP lost the Araria and Jehanabad seats.