Mumbai, Nov 11: The polling dates for Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation (BMC) elections 2017 has been released by the State Election Commission (SEC). The elections would be held in a single phase on February 21. The polling would be conducted on 227 wards in Greater Mumbai region. The results of BMC elections would be declared on Feb 23. The term of current corporation expires on March 4.

Currently, the coalition of Shiv Sena-BJP, along with some independents, is ruling the BMC. In the previous elections for BMC held in February 2012, Shiv Sena emerged as the single largest party, bagging 75 out of the 227 seats. Its ally, Bharatiya Janata Party emerged at the second spot, winning 32 seats. Although the saffron coalition failed to secure the majority figure of 114, they were supported by independently elected corporators.

BMC Elections 2017 polling dates:

  • Elections would be held in all 227 wards controlled by the BMC.
  • Filing nominations would begin from Jan 27.
  • Final date of filing candidature is Feb 3.
  • The polling would be held on Feb 21.
  • Results would be declared on Feb 23.
  • The term of current corporation would end on March 4.

Although the polling dates have been announced by the SEC, no word has been made regarding the pre-poll alliance between Shiv Sena and Bharatiya Janata Party. In the previous elections, Shiv Sena-BJP entered into an alliance, with Sena contesting on 158 seats, whereas, BJP stood on 69.

However, feelers from BJP camp have made it clear that they would be settle for a pre-poll coalition only if Sena gives 100 seats to contest. The reason behind the stubborn stance of BJP is due to the successes made by the party in the recently concluded municipal council and nagar panchayat elections. BJP emerged as the single largest party in all four phases of the rural civic polls.

Congress and NCP, which won 52 and 13 seats respectively, had also contested the 2012 BMC polls in an alliance.

While Congress forms the primary Opposition to the BJP-Shiv Sena combine, a number of other political forces are also aiming to change the electoral equations in Mumbai. The All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen, which won the Byculla assembly seat, has also launched an aggressive campaign in the state. According to reports, the party could contest more than 50 seats in the upcoming BMC elections.

The Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS), led by firebrand regional leader Raj Thackeray, has announced that it would contest all 227 seats independently. Speculations were rife that the Marathi-centric party could enter into an alliance with the BJP.