New Delhi, Sept 14: The Election Commission of India on Wednesday announced the by-election for Vengara Assembly Constituency in Kerala and Gurdaspur Parliamentary Constituency in Punjab on October 11. Model Code of Conduct has come into place with immediate effect for both the constituencies. While the Vengara seat is set for a close battle between the CPIM, IUML and UDF, the Gurdaspur seat is set for a heated three-way race between Congress, Shiromani Akali Dal-Bharatiya Janata Party and Aam Aadmi Party.

The by-election in Vengara became necessary after sitting legislator and top IUML leader PK Kunhalikutty vacated the seat after he was elected from the Malappuram Lok Sabha constituency in April this year. In the 2016 assembly polls, Kunhalikutty won the election by 38,057 votes, one of the highest margins in the state.In the Lok Sabha bypoll this year, he increased his margin to 40,529 votes.

The Gurdaspur bypoll became necessary after three-time MP Vinod Khanna died earlier this year. The Gurdaspur by-election will be a prestige battle for Punjab Chief Minister Captain Amarinder Singh as it comes six months after his party Congress came to power in the state after 10 years.

Here is the complete schedule of the bypolls

Last date of filing nomination: September 22, 2017
Date for scrutiny of nominations: September 25, 2017
Last Date for withdrawal of candidature: September 27, 2017
Date of Poll: October 11, 2017
Date of Counting: October 15, 2017
Date of completion of election: October 17, 2017

Politics is heating up with campaigning having begun already on both these constituencies. The parties are yet to announce candidates for the two bypolls.