New Delhi, October 12: The Cabinet Committee on Appointments on Wednesday made significant changes in the administration of various ministries. The committee appointed 11 Secretaries to government departments. The reshuffle comes ahead of Budget 2018 in February next year.

Senior IAS officer Ajay Narayan Jha will assume charge of the post of Secretary, Department of Expenditure on superannuation of Ashok Lavasa. Jha was serving as the Secretary of Ministry of Environment, Forests and Climate Change as Officer on Special Duty. Similarly, Injeti Srinivas was appointed as Secretary of Ministry of Corporate Affairs. [Also read: Modi Cabinet Approves 7th Central Pay Commission: All You Need to Know]

Alok Shrivastava, a 1984-batch IAS officer from Madhya Pradesh, will be the new secretary of the Department of Justice. He was Special Secretary in the shipping ministry.

Gopal Krishna, a 1983-batch officer of the West Bengal cadre, has been appointed Secretary of the shipping ministry.

Ravi Kant, an IAS officer of 1984 batch from Bihar cadre, will be the new Secretary of the Department of Food and Public Distribution.

K V Eapen, an IAS officer of Assam-Meghalaya, who was at present in his cadre, will be the new Secretary in the Department of Administrative Reforms.

Amita Prasad presently serving as Additional Secretary in the Ministry of Environment, Forests and Climate Change, has been given this additional charge.

Ram Mohan Mishra, a 1987-batch IAS officer from Assam and Meghalaya, will be the new Additional Secretary and Development Commissioner in the Ministry of Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises.