Ahmedabad, Dec 8: The Chhota Udaipur, Jetpur and Sankheda Assembly constituencies will go to polls in the second phase of Gujarat Assembly elections 2017. Out of the three seats in Chhota Udaipur district, two (Chhota Udaipur, Sankheda) had won by the Congress, whereas the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) had bagged one – Jetpur. The election result of Chhota Udaipur, Jetpur and Sankheda along with other seats of Gujarat Assembly will be declared on December 18.

In Chhota Udaipur, the Congress fielded its sitting MLA Mohansinh Chhotubhai Rathwa, whereas the BJP nominated Jashubhai Rathwa. Mohansinh had won against BJP’s Gulsingbhai Ranglabhai Rathwa in 2012 Gujarat polls.

A similar contest is seen in Sankheda where the fight is between sitting Congress MLA Bhil Dhirubhai Chunilal and Abhesinh Motisinh Tadavi of the BJP. Chunilal had defeated Tadvi in 2012 polls.

In Jetpur Assembly constituency, BJP fielded sitting MLA Jayantibhai Savajibhai Rathwa against Sukhrambhai Hariyabhai Rathwa of the Congress. Jayantibhai defeated Sukhram in 2012 polls.

Gujarat Assembly Election Results 2012:

NoAssembly ConstituencyWinning CandidatePartyVoteRunner-up CandidatePartyvote
137Chhota UdaipurMohansinh Chhotubhai RathwaCongress65043Gulsingbhai Ranglabhai RathwaBJP62738
138JetpurJayantibhai Savajibhai RathwaBJP61966Sukhrambhai Hariyabhai RathwaCongress57693
139SankhedaAbhesinh Motisinh TadaviCongress80579Bhil Dhirubhai ChunilalBJP79127

Gujarat Assembly Elections 2017: List of BJP, Congress Candidates

NoAssembly ConstituencyBJP CandidateCongress Candidate
137Chhota UdaipurJashubhai RathwaMohansinh Chhotubhai Rathwa
138JetpurJayantibhai Savajibhai RathwaSukhrambhai Hariyabhai Rathwa
139SankhedaBhil Dhirubhai ChunilalAbhesinh Motisinh Tadavi

While the BJP is fighting to retain power in Gujarat for the record sixth time, the Congress hopes to increase its numbers following humiliating defeats in Assembly of polls of several states post-2014 Lok Sabha debacle. The election result will also set the tone of the 2019 general elections.