Ahmedabad, Dec 8: Polling for election results of Dasada, Limbdi, Wadhwan, Chotila and Dhrangadhra Vidhan Sabha constituencies in Surendranagar district of Gujarat will be held on December 9 in the first phase of the state Assembly polls 2017. All eyes will be on the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), which had won 4 out of 5 Assembly seats in Surendranagar district. The poll results of Dasada, Limbdi, Wadhwan, Chotila and Dhrangadhra constituencies will be declared on December 18 along with Gujarat Assembly election results 2017.

The Dasada Assembly constituency, which is reserved for an SC candidate, witnessed a three-cornered electoral battle between Ramanbhai Vora of the BJP, the Congress’ Naushadji B Solanki and Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) candidate Parshottam Chhaniyara. In 2012 Gujarat Assembly polls, BJP’s Makwana Punambhai had won from Dasada constituency with Congress Manharlal Maganlal Makwana getting second position.

In Limbdi Assembly constituency, BJP’s Kiritsinh Rana is pitted against Congress’ Somabhai G Patel. Congress’ Somabhai Gandalal Kolipatel had won the seat in 2012. However, Somabhai later resigned and by-poll was held in 2013 in which Kiritsinh Rana had won by defeating Congress candidate Satish Patel.

In Wadhwan, the BJP fielded Dhanjibhai Patel (Makson), whereas the Congress nominated Mohanbhai D. Patel. BJP’s Varshaben Narendrabhai Doshi had won the election from Wadhwan against Congress’ Vyas Himanshu Chimanlal in 2012 Gujarat polls.

In Chotila, both the BJP and the Congress nominated new candidates this time. The BJP fielded Jinabhai Najabhai Dedvariya, whereas the Congress nominated Rutvikkumar L Makwana. The seat is currently held by BJP’s Shamjibhai Bhimjibhai Chauhan, who had won against Congress candidate Fatepara Devjibhai Govindbhai in 2012 Gujarat Assembly elections.

For the Dhrangadhra Assembly seat, the BJP fielded Jayrambhai Sonagra, whereas the Congress nominated Purushottambhai Sabariya. The seat was won by BJP’s Jayantibhai Ramjibhai Kavadiya, who defeated Congress’ Patel Jayeshbhai Harilal in 2012 Gujarat polls.

Gujarat Assembly Election Results 2012:

NoAssembly ConstituencyWinning CandidatePartyVoteRunner-up CandidatePartyvote
60DasadaMakwana PunambhaiBJP65404Manharlal Maganlal Makwana


61LimbdiSomabhai Gandalal KolipatelCongress72203Kiritsinh Jitubha Rana


62WadhwanVarshaben Narendrabhai DoshiBJP83049Vyas Himanshu Chimanlal


63ChotilaShamjibhai Bhimjibhai ChauhanBJP72111Fatepara Devjibhai Govindbhai


64DhrangadhraJayantibhai Ramjibhai KavadiyaBJP87621Patel Jayeshbhai Harilal



Gujarat Assembly Elections 2017: List of BJP, Congress Candidates

NoAssembly ConstituencyBJP CandidateCongress Candidate
60DasadaRamanbhai VoraNaushadji B Solanki
61LimbdiKiritsinh RanaSomabhai G. Patel
62WadhwanDhanjibhai Patel (Makson)Mohanbhai D. Patel
63ChotilaJinabhai Najabhai DedvariyaRutvikkumar L Makwana
64DhrangadhraJayrambhai SonagraPurushottambhai Sabariya

In 2012 Gujarat Assembly polls, the BJP won 115 seats, while Congress pocketed 61 in the 182-member House. However, the grand old party was left with 43 MLAs after over a dozen of its legislators quit the party.