Ahmedabad, Dec 7: Voting will take place on 4 seats in Navsari district on December 9 in the first phase of Gujarat Assembly Elections 2017. Navsari is a district dominated by tribals and hence, the election here focuses more on local issues. The Navsari district has 4 Vidhan Sabha seats – Jalalpore, Navsari, Gandevi (ST) and Bansda (ST). Here is a closer look at each of these constituencies:

Jalalpore Vidhan Sabha Seat

The Jalalpore Assembly seat has been dominated by the Bharatiya Janata Party since 1998. BJP’s Rameshbhai Chhotubhai Patel has been the party’s MLA from this seat since 1998 and is contesting the Assembly election for the sixth time. The Congress, on the other hand has fielded Parimalbhai Nanubhai Patel. It will be interesting to see if RC Patel becomes MLA for the fifth time. Get the results for Jalalpore seat here.

Navsari Vidhan Sabha Seat

From Prime Minister Narendra Modi pausing his election speech for Azzan to resentment within the party over ticket distribution, the BJP’s campaign for Navsari Assembly seat has been an interesting one. The seat, in fact, is a BJP stronghold ever since 1995. The party has fielded incumbent MLA Piyushbhai Dinkerbhai Desai against Congress’s Bhavnaben Anilbhai Patel this election. Get the results for Navsari seat here.

Gandevi (ST) Vidhan Sabha Seat

BJP saw resentment over ticket distribution on the Gandevi seat too. BJP’s former MP Kanji Bhai Patel quit the party with his son Sunil, who is now fighting the poll from the Gandevi Assembly seat as an Independent. The BJP has ruled Gandevi since 1995. This election, it has fielded Patel Nareshbhai Maganbhai against Congress’s Sureshbhai Maganbhai Halpati. Get the results for Gandevi seat here.

Bansda (ST) Vidhan Sabha Seat

Bansda, yet another tribal seat, saw the Congress win last election. Congress’s Chaudhari Chhanabhai Kolubhai had in 2012 defeated BJP’s Nareshbhai Maganbhai Patel by about 20,000 votes. The Congress has this year fielded Anantkumar Hasmukhbhai Patel against BJP’s Mahla Ganpatbhai Ulukbhai. Get the results for Bansda seat here.