Ahmedabad, Dec 4: The polling to Jambusar, Vagra, Jhagadia, Bharuch, and Ankleshwar Vidhan Sabha constituencies, that fall in the Bharuch district, will go to polls on December 9 the first phase of Gujarat Assembly Elections 2017. Polling to Jambusar, Vagra, Jhagadia, Bharuch, and Ankleshwar Vidhan Sabha constituencies will begin at 7 AM and continue until 5 PM. The election results of Jambusar, Vagra, Jhagadia, Bharuch, and Ankleshwar assembly constituencies will be declared on December 18.

The main parties contesting in the Gujarat polls are BJP and the grand-old Congress party. Below are details of the Jambusar, Vagra, Jhagadia, Bharuch, and Ankleshwar assembly constituencies, going to polls in Gujarat Assembly Elections 2017.

Jambusar Assembly Constituency

The current MLA of Jambusar is BJP’s Chhatrasinhji Pujabhai Mori who had defeated Congress’ Makwana Kirankumar Laxmanbhai. This year, the BJP has again fielded Chhatrasinh Mori against Congress’ Sanjaybhai J. Solanki.

Vagra Assembly Constituency

In the 2012 Gujarat assembly elections, Arunsinh Ajitsinh Rana from BJP had won over Iqbal Patel of Congress. This year, Suleman Patel of Congress is giving a tough fight to Arunsinh Rana, the current MLA of the assembly constituency.

Jhagadia Assembly Constituency

Ravjibhai Vasava from BJP is contesting against candidates from other parties. Congress has not fielded any candidate from the party in the Jhagadia assembly constituency for the Gujarat polls. Jhagadia is currently represented by JD(U)’s Vasava Chhotubhai Amarsinh.

Bharuch Assembly Constituency

Dushyantbhai Rajnikant Patel from BJP is the current MLA of Bharuch assembly constituency. He had defeated Sandip Mangrola from Congress by over 4,000 votes in the 2012 Gujarat assembly elections. This year, candidates contesting in Bharuch are BJP’s Dushyant Patel and Jaish Patel from Congress.

Ankleshwar Assembly Constituency

Polling to Ankleshwar Vidhan Sabha constituency will be held on December 9. The current MLA of Ankleshwar is Ishwarsinh Thakorbhai Patel from the BJP. For Gujarat Assembly Election 2017, BJP has fielded Ishavarsinh Patel, Congress has fielded Anil Bhagat and AAP has fielded K P Sharma.