Barring stray incidents, Jammu and Kashmir recorded 58 per cent turnout in third phase of Assembly Elections 2014. The fate of 144 candidates has been sealed in Electronic Voting Machines (EVM). Braving the cold weather, voters lined up at polling booths much before the start of the scheduled voting time at 8 am. The enthusiasm in the voters was high initially but the third phase elections saw lesser turnout than the first and second phase of the polling. The first phase of the five-phase elections was held for 15 seats on November 25 which had witnessed a record 71.28 per cent turn out while 72 per cent of voters cast their vote in the second phase. (Read: Jammu and Kashmir Assembly Elections 2014: All you need to know the poll-battle of the valley)

The third phase of Jammu and Kashmir Elections 2014 was spread over three districts; Budgam, Pulwama and Baramulla. Electorate from 16 constituencies of Uri, Sopre, Sangrama, Baramulla, Gulmarg, Pattan, Chadoora, Badgam, Beerwah, Khansahib, Charari Sharief, Tral, Pampore, Pulwama, and Rajpora used their constitutional rights today which saw a staggering near 60 percent turn out.

The stakes are high for main opposition party- People’s Democratic Party (PDP) that won 9 of the 16 seats which went for polling in third phase. PDP had re-nominated six sitting MLAs and had fielded fresh faces on three other seats that were won by it in the 2008 J & K Assembly Elections.

Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister Omar Abdullah also tried his luck from Beerwah constituency in Budgam district during these elections, instead of his family-bastion, Ganderbal constituency. Among other key candidates, Finance minister Abdul Rahim Rather, Congress leader and Health minister Taj Mohiuddin and Agriculture minister Ghulam Hassan Mir were in the fray in the crucial third phase elections.

The results of five phase elections of Jammu and Kashmir Assembly will be announced on December 23. Catch this space for more updates of Jammu and Kashmir Elections 2014.