New Delhi: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Congress party are leaving no stones unturned in drumming popular support ahead of the Gujarat Assembly Elections 2017. Congress Vice-President Rahul Gandhi and Prime Minister Narendra Modi are leading their parties from the front. The state will go to polls in two phases. Polling for the first phase will happen on December 9. Devbhumi Dwarka district of the state will go to polls in the first phase. The district has two assembly constituencies– Khambhalia and Dwarka.


Aam Aadmi Party’s Ketanbhai Savjibhai Parmar will lock horns with Bharatiya Janata Party’s Kalubhai Naranbhai Chavda and Congress party’s Ahir Vikrambhai Arjanbhai Madam. In 2014 assembly bye-elections, Congress party’s Ahir Meraman Markhibhai had edged past BJP’s Ayar Mulubhai Hardasbhai Bera. Here is the list of votes received.

Ahir Meraman Markhibhai–INC 66410
Ayar Mulubhai Hardasbhai Bera–BJP 65202
Sumara Daudbhai Nathabhai–IND 1228
Ghugha Jusab Valimamad–IND 1112
Nakum Ashok Haribhai–IND 1058
Sama Yusuf Suleman– IND 670
Satavara Narshi Gordhan Parmar–IND 452
Bathavar Nanjibhai Amarshibhai– IND 390
Mamadbhai Jumabhai Khafi –IND 196
Balbhadra Janardan Umiyashankar –IND 177


The constituency was won by the Bharatiya Janata Party in 2012. BJP candidate Pabubha Virambha Manek had defeated Ahir Kandor Ya Mulubhai Ranmai Bhai of the Congress party. This time, BSP’s Chetariya Rambhai Karshanbhai, BJP’s Pabubha Virambha Manek and INC Ahir Meraman Markhi are the key contenders. The results will be announced on December 18.