Bhopal, Aug 16: The State Election Commission, Madhya Pradesh will declare the election results for 43 local bodies which include 14 municipalities and 23 Nagar Parishads – today. Election results for 14 Janpad Panchayat members, three District Panchayat Sadasya will also be announced today. Besides that, by-election results for 5,631 panchs, 74 sarpanchs and general election results for 356 panchs and 23 sarpanchs will also be declared today. Polling for local body elections in Madhya Pradesh was held on August 11. We will be updating live on Madhya Pradesh local body election results. Check list of winning candidates here

As many as 206 candidates for President’s post in urban bodies, 2133 candidates for municipal councillor’s posts, 18 nagar palika and 26 nagar parishads are in the fray. The polling recorded 65.41 per cent voter turnout. The local body elections results are being considered crucial for the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party and state Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan.

Catch live updates on Madhya Pradesh local body elections results here

Madhya Pradesh Local Body Election Results: BJP Captures 25 President Posts, Congress Wins 15 (Read full report here)

3:00 pm Update: 

Jhabua Ranapur – BJP candidate Sunita wins

Jhabua Thandla – BJP’s Bunty Nana Sohan wins

Jhabua Petlawad – BJP’s Manohar Bhatevra wins

Jhabua Nagar Palika Parishad – Congress’ Mannu Dodia wins

Alirajpur Chandrashekhar Azad Nagar – BJP’s Nirmala Davar wins

2:35 pm Update: In Chanera Nagar Parishad, the BJP won 10 seats, while Congress bagged 3. Two seats were won by independent candidates.

2:05 pm Update: Madhya Pradesh Congress President Arun Yadav called local body election results ‘satisfactory’. The Congress has won 14 out of the 43 president’s posts in local body elections. 

1:50 pm Update: Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan congratulated BJP workers after the party won 26 out of 43 president’s posts in local body elections.

1:40 pm Update: Of the 43 posts of the president in local bodies, the BJP has won 25, while the Congress bagged 15. Three independent candidates were also elected president in civic body election.

1:33 pm Update: BJP’s Aarti Mouryhui won president’s post in Dabra Nagar Palika.

1:30 pm Update: BJP candidate Usha Kol won president’s post in Pali.

1:17 pm Update: The BJP has won the election in 26 local bodies, whereas Congress emerged victorious in 14 civic bodies.

1:17 pm Update: Congress candidate Manu Dodiyar has won the election in Jhabua Nagar Palika.

12:58 pm Update: Independent Candidate wins in Pandhurna.

12:34 pm Update: BJP candidate Ramila Chauhan win president’s post in Jobat Nagar Panchayat.

BJP Captures 18 Civic Bodies, Congress Bags 10 (Read full report here)

12:24 pm Update: In Lakhnadaun Nagar Parishad, Congress won 5 sears, BJP 4 and independent candidates 6.

12:22 pm Update: BJP candidate Brijesh Basal won the election in Kailas Nagar Parishad.

12:04 pm Update: Of the 6 civic body seats in Chindwada, Congress has won 4, while the BJP won one seat.

11:55 am Update: Congress wins in Niwas Nagar Parishad. Congress candidate Chain Singh Barkade won with 978 votes.

Check list of winning candidates of BJP and Congress

11:50 am Update: The BJP has won elections in 18 local bodies (Nagar Palika) in Madhya Pradesh, while the Congress could win in 10 civic bodies. 43 local bodies went to polls.

11:40 am Update: BJP’s Ramila Chouhan wins president’s post in Jobat Nagar Panchayat.

11:22 am Update: BJP candidate Urmila Katare win election from Shahdol Nagar Palika.

11:17 am Update: BJP candidate Rajesh Chauhan wins election from Nepanagar Nagar Palika. 

11:13 am Update: The BJP has secured a lead in 12 urban bodies, while the Congress is leading in 4. 43 urban bodies went to polls on August 11.

10:55 am Update: BJP captured Kotma Nagar Palika winning 8 out of 15 wards. Congress won in 5 wards.

10:50 am Update: Congress candidate Subhash Gulabke wins election from Damua.

10:45 am Update: BJP candidate Suraj Rathod wins election from Aathner Nagar Parishad.

10:40 am Update: In Garoth Nagar Parishad, Congress candidate Sangeeta Lalit Chandel defeated BJP’s Vinod Gwala Lala in the by-election of ward no 13.

10:34 am Update: BJP candidate Naresh Chandraul is leading in Nainpor Nagar Palika election.

10:30 am Update: BJP’s Nirmala Madho Dawar wins president’s post from Shabra Nagar Panchayat.

10:27 am Update: Congress candidate Sapna Kalambe wins election from Mohgaon Nagar Panchayat.

10:20 am Update: BJP wins elections in Budhar and Jaitwara.

10:20 am Update: Congress wins Shahpura Nagar Parishad, while the BJP bags Dindori Nagar Parishad.

10:17 am Update: Congress candidates win by-elections from ward no 4 and 9 in Shamgarh. 

10:15 am Update: BJP candidate Shmina Bi defeated Congress’ Razak Mansuri in ward no 4 by-elections of Mundi Nagar Parishad.

10:13 am Update: Congress candidate Namrata Rathod wins from Sailana Nagar Parishad. 

10:07 am Update: The results will decide the fate of 2133 candidates who contested for municipal councillor’s post. The fate of 206 candidates who fought for president’s post will also be decided today. Counting of votes is underway.

9:25 am Update: Counting of votes for local body election results is underway in Madhya Pradesh. Final results to be declared soon.

8:50 am Update: Counting of votes for Madhya Pradesh local body election results will begin shortly. Stay connected with us to get live updates on results.

Madhya Pradesh Assembly elections will be held next year. The local body results are crucial for CM Shivraj Singh Chouhan and BJP to test their popularity especially in rural areas ahead of Assembly polls.