Mumbai, Apr 12: Narayan Rane’s Maharashtra Swabhimaan Paksh (MSP) defeated the Shiv Sena-BJP alliance in Sindhudurg district’s Kankavli as the results for local body polls of the state were declared on Thursday. His party won the nagar panchayat polls.

Narayan Rane had recently called it quits with the Congress and floated his own party. Intrestingly, he had won Rajya Sabha polls recently with support from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). Despite this, party candidates contested elections against the BJP.

The BJP won elections in four municipal councils in Maharashtra. The election results of four municipal councils or Nagar Panchayats along with six seats in various municipal corporations were declared. The BJP bagged Jamner, Vaijapur, Devrukh and Ajra.

The biggest victory for the BJP came in Jamner, Jalgaon, where the saffron party bagged all 24 seats in the municipal council election. BJP leader and Maharashtra Minister Girish Mahajan’s wife Sadhana Mahajan won the president post of Jamner municipal council. She defeated her closest rival and NCP candidate Anjali Pawar by 8,400 votes.