Live Updates

Mumbai, Nov 28: Counting of votes for the 147 Municipal Councils (Nagar Parishad) and 17 Nagar Panchayats elections in Maharashtra will begin at 10 AM. The Maharashtra Municipal Councils and Nagar Panchayats election results are expected to be declared by Monday evening. In the first phase, polling was held at 164 municipal councils and 3,706 nagar panchayat seats. A total of 15,827 candidates are in the fray. We will be updating live on the Maharashtra Municipal Councils, Nagar Panchayats election results. Around 65 per cent polling was reported in elections to 147 municipal councils and 17 nagar panchayats.

In total elections are being held for 212 civic bodies, comprising municipal councils and nagar panchayats, in four phases in Maharashtra. In the first phase, voting for the for the 3,706 seats spread over 147 municipal councils and 17 Nagar Panchayats was held on Sunday. The next rounds of voting are scheduled on December 14, December 18, and January 8. 27 candidates have been declared elected unopposed and no nominations were received for Shirala Nagar Panchayat in Sangli district.

The Maharashtra Municipal Councils and Nagar Panchayats election results will be closely observed as many believe the outcome would be referendum on Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s demonetisation drive that caused major inconvenience to common man especially those who stay in rural areas. The Municipal Councils and Nagar Panchayats polls are also seen as ‘mini’ assembly election and it will also indicate whether people are satisfied with Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis led BJP-government in Maharashtra.

While BJP and Shiv Sena contested Municipal Councils and Nagar Panchayats elections together, Congress and NCP didn’t form an alliance. The issue of currency ban along with the development dominated the poll campaign. While CM Fadnavis hailed the demonetisation drive of PM Modi, Congress and other opposition parties slammed the move highlighting the hardships being faced by the poor and common man due to currency ban. stay connected with us to get latest and instant live updates on Maharashtra Municipal Councils, Nagar Panchayats election results.