New Delhi, April 21: Campaigning for MCD Elections 2017 came to an end today at 5 PM as all the parties wrapped up their over a month-long work to gather as much support as they could have gathered before the Delhi civic polls. While the MCD Elections 2017 is a litmus test for Arvind Kejriwal-led AAP as the party lost Goa and Punjab assembly elections 2017 and the Rajouri Garden seat in the bypolls, it is a question of saving face for Narendra Modi-led BJP as the saffron party had been ruing over the municipal corporations for last 10 years. The campaigns witnessed heated-up campaigning from BJP and AAP, and political bickering between the state government, the BJP led-Centre and the three civic bodies.

AAP’s dismal show in Goa and Punjab Assembly elections 2017 might affect the party’s political landscape in Delhi. Losing the bye-elections in Delhi have turned the pointer back again at the CM of Delhi and if he will be able to hold the veins of Delhi in MCD Elections 2017. This is the first time AAP has been contesting in the MCD Elections. In the municipal by-elections, the AAP had managed to win only five out of 13 seats but had swept the Delhi assembly polls in 2015 winning 67 out of a total of 70 seats.

After a poor performance in Goa, Punjab assembly elections 2017 and Rajouri Garden bypolls, will AAP be able to take the MCD throne this time and hold the reins of Delhi or would it be BJP again ruling over the municipal corporations once again?

As for BJP, the Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD) has been under the ruling of the saffron party for last 10 years. BJP emerged as a winner in all the three municipal corporations with a total of 138 out of 272 seats, Congress managed the second position with 77 seats.


North Delhi Municipal Corporation (NDMC)

In North Delhi Municipal Corporation (NDMC), BJP won 59 seats out of 104 in NDMC. Congress stood at the second position with only 29 wards and BSP could gather only 7.

East Delhi Municipal Corporation (EDMC)

In East Delhi Municipal Corporation, BJP won a total of 35 out of 64 wards. Congress managed the second position with only 19 seats while BSP could gather only three seats.

South Delhi Municipal Corporation (EDMC)

In South Delhi Municipal Corporation (SDMC), BJP, yet again, emerged as a winner gathering a total of 44 out of 104 wards, while Congress managed only 29.

The voting for MCD Elections 2017 has been scheduled on April 23 and the votes will be counted on April 26. This year, for MCD Elections 2017, major parties such as Indian National Congress (INC), Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), Swaraj India, Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and others.