New Delhi, Apr 21: Yamuna Vihar is one of the wards that falls under East Delhi Municipal Corporation (EDMC). Ward number 045-E, Yamuna Vihar is currently represented by Vijay Laxmi Vahal of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). The ward, which is a part of the Ghonda Assembly constituency, will see a tough competition between three political parties – the BJP, Congress and Aam Aadmi Party (AAP).

The total population of Yamuna Vihar is 59,939 out of which the Scheduled Caste population is 4,229.

In 2012 MCD elections, BJP candidate Vijay Laxmi Vahal had won from Yamuna Vihar ward. This year, the BJP has fielded Pramod Gupta and against him, Congress candidate Mahender Singh Parasar will fight it out to win the Yamuna Vihar. The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has fielded Ramesh Pandey from Yamuna Vihar ward of the EDMC.

Yamuna Vihar Election 2017 Candidate List

1Ramesh PandeyAAP
2Pramod GuptaBJP
3Mahender Singh ParasarCONG

In 2012, the ward was won by Vijay Laxmi Vahal of the Bharatiya Janata Party whereas, Sushila Aggarwal of the Indian National Congress (INC) came second with 9,545 votes. Bahujan Samaj Party candidate Kamlesh came third in 2012 MCD elections from the Yamuna Vihar ward. Total number of votes polled during the MCD Elections 2012 were 23735.

Yamuna Vihar MCD Election 2012 Result

Candidate NameParty NameVotes Polled
Vijay Laxmi VahalBharatiya Janata Party (BJP)10157
Sushila AggarwalIndian National Congress (INC)9545
KamleshBahujan Samaj Party (BSP)3258

The MCD Elections conducted in 2007 witnessed the victory of Bharatiya Janata Party’s Trilok Chand Sharma. He had secured 9,177 votes. The second spot was gained by Indian National Congress candidate Shrish Chandra Tiwari. Bahujan Samaj Party candidate Minto Singh stood third in the MCD Elections 2007 with 2,440 votes.

Yamuna Vihar MCD Election 2007 Results

Candidate NameParty NameVotes Polled
Trilok Chand SharmaBharatiya Janata Party9177
Shrish Chandra TiwariIndian National Congress3093
Minto SinghBahujan Samaj Party2440

Votes for MCD Elections 2017 will be cast on April 23 and the counting will be held on April 26. Visit to get latest live updates on the MCD elections results 2017.