Mumbai, Oct 12: Asaduddin Owaisi’s All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) seems to have failed in retaining seats in Nanded Waghala Municipal Corporation. The AIMIM, which shocked everyone winning 11 seats in 2012 Nanded Municipal Corporation election, has failed to secure lead on any seat so far. The party may lose all 11 seats it had won in 2012. The counting of votes for the election results of Nanded Waghala Municipal Corporation polls is underway. Catch the live updates on Nanded Waghala Municipal Corporation election results here.

The AIMIM, a Hyderabad-based party, had contested the 2012 Nanded Municipal Corporation and won 13 (11 of its own and 02 partners) seats. This was party’s first major victory outside Telangana. Buoyed by the victory in Nanded, the AIMIM decided to expand and contested civic polls other cities of Maharashtra including Mumbai and Aurangabad where it succeeded in opening its account. However, the party seems to have lost its grip in Nanded, from where it started. (Nanded Civic Poll Results: List of Winning Candidates of Congress, BJP, AIMIM, Shiv Sena, NCP)

Out of the 81 seats, the Congress has secured the lead on more than 45 seats, while the BJP is ahead in two wards. The Shiv Sena is leading on one seat. In 2012, the Congress had won 41 wards. Shiv Sena with 12 seats was a distant second, followed by AIMIM with 11 seats. While the NCP won 10 seats, the BJP could bag just two seats.

AIMIM contested the Nanded Waghala Municipal Corporation election in alliance with Mayawati’s Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP). Nanded urban has more than 45 per cent population of Dalit-Muslim voters. But the tie-up didn’t pay much for the AIMIM, show trends.