Mumbai, Oct 13: As the Congress made a clean sweep in the Nanded Waghala Municipal Corporation elections, the All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen or AIMIM, led by Asaduddin Owaisi, was wiped out completely. The AIMIM, which shocked everyone by winning 11 seats in 2012 Nanded Municipal Corporation election, failed to retain a seat. The pro-minority party contested Nanded civic polls in an alliance with Mayawati’s Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP). Despite the tie-up, the AIMIM appeared irrelevant among minority communities especially Muslims.

The Nanded Municipal Corporation election results came as a serious speed-breaker in Asaduddin Owaisi’s ambition to expand AIMIM, a Hyderabad-based party, beyond Telangana. The AIMIM had contested the 2012 Nanded Municipal Corporation election and won 13 (11 of its own and 02 partners) seats. However, it lost all 11 seats this time. What worst for the AIMIM was that Zakiya Begum, mother of party’s Maharashtra unit president Syed Moin, also lost the election to Congress’ Shabana Begum.

The Nanded drubbing is a major setback for the AIMIM, which has been trying to emerge as an alternative to secular parties for Indian Muslims. Nanded was the starting point for the AIMIM from where it got considerable support from minority electorate. Buoyed by the victory in Nanded in 2012, the AIMIM decided to expand itself in Maharashtra and contested civic polls in other cities of the state including Mumbai and Aurangabad where it succeeded in opening its account.

Maharashtra is the only state other than Telangana from where the AIMIM received some good support. It won two seats in Maharashtra Assembly election other than victories in Mumbai, Nanded, Solapur and Aurangabad civic polls. However, the party remained a non-factor in Bihar, where it contested Assembly polls on six seats in Seemachal and faced defeat on all, in Uttar Pradesh, where it lost on all 38 seats it contested and in Municipal Corporation election in Delhi, where it suffered defeat on all 50 seats it contested.

The Congress on Thursday bagged the prestigious Nanded Waghala Municipal Corporation, bagging a staggering 73 of the 81 seats. The opposition led by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) bagged six seats while its ruling ally in the centre and the state, Shiv Sena, got just one seat. An independent candidate also won.