New Delhi, Nov 07: Arvind Kejriwal-led Delhi government on Tuesday withdrew its petition to the National Green Tribunal (NGT), seeking modifications to the Odd-Even scheme. The Tribunal has reportedly asked the Delhi government to come up with logical explanations for exemptions when they approach the tribunal again.

Hitting out at the Delhi government for demanding exemption of two-wheelers, the tribunal asked,”When reports have stated that two-wheelers are more polluting than four-wheelers, why do you intend to give arbitrary exemptions? Is this a joke? What does one stand to gain from this?”

While hearing the government’s review petition on the vehicle rationing scheme, the tribunal asked,” Why can’t you (Delhi Govt) run ladies special buses to solve the problem of transport during the odd-even scheme. ”

The tribunal also raised question on government’s decision to reopen schools amid alarming pollution levels in national capital. It said,”Don’t gift infected lungs to children. They have to wear masks to school.What constitutes a health emergency according to you ? Measures should be applied automatically by Govt after dangerous levels of PM 2.5 and PM 10 persist for more than 48 hours.”

Earlier on Monday, Arvind Kejriwal-led Delhi government had filed an appeal in the National Green Tribunal, seeking certain changes in its previous directions regarding the odd-even scheme.

Last week, the Aam Aadmi Party government had announced implementation of the odd-even scheme from November 13-17, to tackle the alarming pollution levels in the capital. But it called off the scheme following directive by the NGT, which ordered the withdrawal of all exemptions, including to two-wheeler riders and woman-only vehicles, under the odd-even scheme.

“In light of the the two conditions by NGT on 2 wheelers & women, at the moment we are calling it off,” Kailash Gehlot, Delhi Transport Minister had said. The decision to call-off the scheme was taken at a meeting chaired by Arvind Kejriwal and attended by ministers, including Gahlot, Gopal Rai and Imran Hussain.