Live Updates

  • 11:26 AM IST

    Rajya Sabha adjourned till Tuesday.

  • 11:18 AM IST

  • 11:17 AM IST

    Lok Sabha adjourned till Tuesday after giving obituary to former members and victims of Amarnath terror attack

  • 11:07 AM IST

    National Conference leader Farooq Abdullah takes oath as Lok Sabha member.

  • 11:04 AM IST

    Monsoon Session of Parliament begins.

  • 10:53 AM IST

  • 10:06 AM IST

    This session is very important as India will complete seven decades of independence on August 15, on August 9 it will be 75 years of Quit India Movement. New President and Vice President will also be elected in this session: Narendra Modi

  • 9:59 AM IST

    Growing stronger together is another name of GST spirit, says Narendra Modi

  • 9:58 AM IST

    Prime Minister Narendra Modi addresses nation ahead of Monsoon Session of Parliament.

  • 9:24 AM IST

    Leaders of opposition parties to meet at 10 am today in Parliament.

New Delhi, July 17: The Monsoon Session of Parliament, beginning on Monday, is expected to be stormy affair with the opposition parties all set to corner the Narendra Modi government over a host of issues concerning national security, foreign policy and others. At least 16 new bills are listed for introduction in this session including to implement the GST in Jammu and Kashmir, and a bill to amend the Citizenship Act to allow certain illegal immigrants get Indian citizenship.

Eighteen opposition parties, which have come together to put up candidates in the Presidential and Vice Presidential elections against the Bharatiya Janata Party-led National Democratic Alliance’s (NDA) nominees, are expected to raise the military stand-off with China, the law and order situation in Kashmir in the wake of the terror attack on Amarnath Yatra pilgrims and incidents of lynching over beef controversy and suicide of farmers in some states.

The Opposition parties that include the Congress, CPI-M, Trinamool Congress, Samajwadi Party, Nationalist Congress Party, Bahujan Samaj Party, Janata Dal-United, Rashtriya Janata Dal and DMK among others, have already clarified that besides the elections of the President and Vice President, they will have floor coordination in Parliament to corner the government.

The Congress had said that it would seek answers from the government over an ongoing border stand-off with China, the worsening situation in Kashmir and mob lynching incidents in the name of cow. Leader of Opposition in the Rajya Sabha Ghulam Nabi Azad said the situation on the border with China in the Sikkim sector is very tense even as he blamed Beijing for the boundary stand-off.

The TMC and RJD are likely to raise the issue of vendetta politics and targetting of the opposition leaders through the Central Bureau of Investigation, Enforcement Directorate and other central agencies. RJD chief Lalu Prasad and his family members are being named in the chargesheet in an alleged corruption case.

Both houses of Parliament are unlikely to transact any business on the first day on account of the death of members — Vinod Khanna (Lok Sabha) and Anil Dave and P Goverdhan Reddy (Rajya Sabha). Voting for the new President will also take place today in which 776 Parliamentarians will vote.