Gujarat is going to polls in two phases– on December 9 and December 14. The results of the Gujarat Assembly Elections 2017 will be announced on December 18. Porbandar district, which was the home town of father of the nation, Mahatma Gandhi, will also go to polls in the first phase. The district has two constituencies– Porbandar and Kutiyana.


In 2012, Arjunbhai Devabhai Modhwadia of the Indian National Congress was defeated by
Babubhai Bhimabhai Bokhiria of BJP. BSP’s Anandbhai Hajabhai Maru, BJP’s Babubhai Bhimabhai Bokhiriya and INC’s Arjunbhai Devabhai Modhavadiya are locking horns this time.


In 2012, Congress party’s Kandhal Sarmanbhai Jadeja had defeated Karshanbhai Dulabhai Odedra of the Bharatiya Janata Party. Here is the list of candidates this year.

BSPVrajalal Pababhai Sadiya
BJPOdedra Lakhamanbhai Bhimabhai
INCModedra Vejabhai Lilabhai
INDOdedara Balubhai Ramabhai
INDKadegiya Gangabhai Kanabhai
INDKhunti Kanabhai Jakharabhai
INDJoshi Harish Liladhar
INDBhatt Nitinbhai Vrajlal
INDRathod Chandulal Mohanbhai
INDVaghela Laljibhai Somabhai
INDShamala Ramabhai Goganbhai
NCPJadeja Kandhalbhai Sarmanbhai

The Congress party and the Bharatiya Janata Party are engaged in a high-voltage election campaign. Congress Vice-President Rahul Gandhi and Prime Minister Narendra Modi are leading their parties from the front.