New Delhi, Mar 14: Congress President Rahul Gandhi on Wednesday congratulated those who won in Uttar Pradesh bye-elections 2018 and Bihar bye-elections 2018. He also added that the results clearly show how angry the people are with the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). The voting for the Gorakhpur Lok Sabha bypoll and Phulpur Lok Sabha bypoll was held on Sunday.

Speaking about Congress’s performance in the UP, Bihar bypolls, Gandhi said, “Congress is eager for the resurgence in UP, but it will not happen overnight.”

The Samajwadi Party turned the tables in Uttar Pradesh on Wednesday by winning both the Lok Sabha seats – Gorakhpur and Phulpur. Elections on both the seats were necessitated after they were vacated by Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya on their election to UP Legislative Council.

Notably, the Samajwadi Party candidate from Gorakhpur, Praveen Nishad, and Phulpur, Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel, were backed by Mayawati-led Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP).

Speaking to IANS, Samajwadi Party spokesman Anurag Bhaudauria said, “This is a rejection of both (Prime Minister Narendra) Modi and Yogi (Adityanath).” Explaining why the voters appeared to have turned away against the BJP so dramatically in these two seats since the 2014 Lok Sabha battle, he added, “They have been making tall promises but not delivering on the ground.”

In 2014, the BJP stunningly won 73 out of 80 Lok Sabha seats. The Samajwadi Party won five seats and the Congress and BSP drew a blank.

Meanwhile, in Bihar bye-elections 2018, the Araria Lok Sabha seat and the Jehanabad Assembly seat has been bagged by Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) candidates Sarfaraz Alam and Uday Yadav, respectively. On the other hand, the BJP candidate Rinki Rani Pandey has won from Bhabhua Assembly seat.