Sujit MandalTripura, Feb 15: Simna, Mohanpur, Bamutia, Barjala, Khayerpur assembly constituencies or Vidhan Sabha are going to polls on February 18 in the Tripura Assembly Election 2018. The counting of votes of the five assembly constituencies will take place on March 3 along with Meghalaya and Nagaland assemble elections 2018.

Main contenders contesting in the Tripura Assembly Election 2018 include Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Congress and CPM. The Tripura Assembly has a total of 60 seats. AK Joti announced that electronic voting machines and VVPAT will be used on all the seats.

Simna Assembly Constituency: In Simna Assembly Constituency or Vidhan Sabha, while Congress has fielded Phani Lal Debbarma, CPI(M) has fielded Pranab Debbarma, for the Tripura Assembly Election 2018. This year, the BJP hasn’t fielded any candidate on the Simna assembly constituency in Tripura.

The other candidates in Simna include Subodh Debbarma, fighting as an independent candidate, TPP’s Ananta Urang, IPFT’s Brishaketu Debbarma and Rabindra Debbarma from INPT.

Mohanpur Assembly Constituency: In Mohanpur Vidhan Sabha, BJP’s Ratan Lal Nath is up against Congress party’s Dilip Kumar Ghosh. Other candidates CPM’s Subashchandra Debnath and Haralal Debnath from ABM.

Bamutia Assembly Constituency: BJP’s Krishnadhan Das is up against Congress’ Swapanananda Das, Haricharan Sarkar from CPM and Bimal Das from AMB.

Barjala Assembly Constituency: In Barjana Vidhan Sabha, a total of five candidates are in the fray. While BJP has fielded Dilip Kumar Das on the Barjala seat, INC has fielded Dipak Das. Other candidates include AITC’s Utpal Das, CPM’s Jhumu Sarkar and Sujit Mandal as an Independent candidate.

Khayerpur Assembly Constituency: In Khayerpur, BJP is contesting Ratan Chakraborty, Congress has fielded Sukhamay Saha, Pabitra Kar from CPM and Independent candidate Ashim Sarkar are fighting in the upcoming Tripura Assembly Election 2018.