New Delhi, Jan 11: The Election Commission of India (ECI) is likely to officially announce the Tripura, Meghalaya, Nagaland Assembly Elections 2018 polling schedule on Friday. Reports say that Vidhan Sabha election or assembly elections 2018 in Tripura, Meghalaya, and Nagaland will be conducted in a single phase. The polling will be conducted in February 2018.

A four-member of Election Commission had visited the three election-bound states to make a final assessment, a report said. The team met leaders of various political parties and asked them to make preparations for the upcoming assembly elections in their respective states.

The terms of Tripura, Meghalaya, and Nagaland officially ends on March 6, 13, and 14, respectively. The assembly elections will be held in the month of February. Currently, Tripura is ruled by the Left Front, Naga People’s Front-led Democratic Alliance of Nagaland in Nagaland and Congress in Meghalaya.

On the other hand, dates of Karnataka Assembly Elections 2018 are expected to be announced in the second week of March. Sources in the EC said that the model code of conduct will come into force once the commission releases the schedule.

Earlier, the EC announced that “three dozen” apps will be launched ahead of the assembly polls to bring in ease to all the stakeholders. “We have three dozen apps that will be deployed in the pre-poll time and this poll preparation will be IT friendly and modern to prevent any difficulty to the voters,” Senior Deputy Election Commissioner Umesh Sinha said.