New Delhi, March 14: Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath has conceded defeat in Lok Sabha bypolls results for which were announced on Wednesday. Describing by-elections results as unexpected, the UP CM said that the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) will review what went wrong in the elections. Adityanath admitted that BJP’s overconfidence and failure to ascertain the SP-BSP alliance resulted in the loss. (Also Read: In Uttar Pradesh, Bihar Bypolls, is There a Message For The BJP?)

Adityanath said that the coming together of SP and the BSP worked in their favour.  “We failed to understand the changed political equation,” he said.  Describing SP-BSP ‘alliance’ for the bypolls as ‘rajnitik saudebaazi’ (political bargaining),  the UP CM said that the BJP will work on its strategy in wake of the defeat. “Yeh BSP-SP ka jo rajnitik saudebaazi, desh ke vikas ko baadhit karne ke liye bani hai, iske baare mein hum apni rann neeti tayaar karenge,”  Yogi Adityanath added.

“We accept the verdict of the people, this result is unexpected, we will review the shortcomings. I congratulate the winning candidates,” a visibly upset Adityanath told news agency ANI.

Samajwadi Party captured both Phulpur, Gorakhpur Lok Sabha seats. While SP candidate Nagendra Singh Patel defeated his nearest BJP opponent Kaushlendra Singh Patel by 59,613 votes in Phulpur, in CM Yogi Adityanath’s hometown Gorakhpur, the BJP suffered a setback as SP’s Praveen Nishad defeated BJP’s Upendra Dutt Shukla by a margin of 21,881 votes. Gorakhpur and Phulpur seats fell vacant after CM Adityanath and his deputy Keshav Prasad Maurya were elected to the Uttar Pradesh Assembly.

In a rare show of camaraderie, Samajwadi Party leaders admitted that the BSP decision to back their party played a critical role in the outcome.

In 2014, the BJP stunningly won 71 of the 80 Lok Sabha seats while one of its allies secured two. The Samajwadi Party won from five seats. The Congress won two seats and the BSP drew a blank.

The Samajwadi Party took early lead right from the beginning of the vote count that began on Wednesday morning and steadily built up the gap with its BJP rivals as officials counted the tens of thousands of votes.

(With inputs from agencies)