Lucknow, Mar 13: The results of bye-elections in Uttar Pradesh will be declared today. Two Lok Sabha seats – Gorakhpur and Phulpur – went to bypolls on March 11. Counting of votes for Gorakhpur and Phulpur bye-elections results will begin at 8:00 am. Stakes are high for the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath who had represented the Gorakhpur Lok Sabha seats for five times.

Tight security arrangements have been made for the counting of ballots in the area and the results are expected to the declared by afternoon. 47.45 percent of voter turnout was recorded in Gorakhpur Lok Sabha bypoll, while Phulpur parliamentary seat witnessed a polling percentage of 37.39 percent in the election held on March 11.

The bye-elections in Uttar Pradesh were necessitated after CM Yogi Adityanath and his deputy Keshav Prasad Maurya vacated their seats in Gorakhpur and Phulpur, respectively, on taking office.

For Gorakhpur, the key contenders were Upendra Shukla from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Praveen Nishad from the Samajwadi Party (SP) and Surhita Chatterjee Karim from the Congress Party. Meanwhile, candidates in the fray for the Phulpur seat are Kaushalendra Singh Patel from the BJP, Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel from the SP and Manish Mishra from the Congress Party. (With agency inputs)